This match was a real end-to-end encounter as both teams met to decide who would advance to the KDUL Shield Semi Final.

With the aid of a significant breeze and lead by captain Jack Christie, Clane started strongly and eventually broke through the very strong Naas defence with Sean Byrne sharp off the mark to finish to put Clane in front. Before half time, Clane added some much needed further breathing space with excellent goals from Stephen Marron and Oscar Heffernan.

With the start of the second half, Clane produced an excellent period of passing and movement into a stiff breeze and added further goals with Stephen Marron and Oscar Heffernan again.

A physically strong Naas side started to impose themselves more in the match and got a goal back midway through the second half. Clane quickly responded again with excellent interplay working Mark Mullahy into space on the left and he finished expertly to make it 6-1.

This resilient Naas side didn’t surrender however and, with the aid of a strong breeze, they made it very challenging for Clane to work the ball out of their own half. Naas continued to attack and got 3 goals back to make it 6-4 with 5 minutes remains. Naas had significant momentum but credit to the Clane players for staying calm in the face of the pressure coming from Naas and they confidently controlled the remaining minutes to put the match to bed.

Jack Christie was outstanding in goals in terms of his shot-stopping and control of his area in relation to through balls from Naas. Jack was also very influential in helping his teammates remain calm when under pressure in the last 15 minutes and is deservedly Clane Man of the Match.

Clane U14 Major now progress to set up a big KDUL Shield semi-final against their close friends in the Clane U14 Major 1 team who beat Prosperous United in their Quarter Final. Semi Final match to be played on Tuesday 16 April 2024.


Team: Jack Christie (Captain; Man of the Match), Conor Brennan, Aaron Reardon, Harry O’Reilly, Art Ormsby, William McNamee, Sean Óg Finn, Jack Kinsella, Sean Jamieson, Mark Mullahy (1), Patrick Doherty, Oscar Heffernan (2), Seanie Reilly, Andrew McCormack, Sean Byrne (1), Stephen Marron (2).

Spread the love